Monday 24 October 2011

British Composer Awards 2011

Here's the shortlist for the British Composer Awards, as selected by the British Academy of Songwriters, Compsoers and Authors (BASCA).  The winners will be announced on November 30th, and Radio 3 will be airing a special programme about the awards on 4th December.
Instrumental Solo or Duo
Oliver Knussen: Ophelia's Last Dance
Thomas Simaku: Soliloquy IV for Bass Clarinet
William Sweeney: Sonata for Cello & Piano
David Matthews: Horn Quintet
Anthony Payne: String Quartet No. 2
Martin Suckling: To See the Dark Between
Dai Fujikura: away we play
Martin Suckling: What Shall I Give?
Huw Watkins: Five Larkin Songs
Alexander Campkin: O magnum mysterium
Francis Pott: Mass in Eight Parts
Michael Zev Gordon: Allele
Wind Band or Brass Band
Tom Davoren: Looking In
Emily Howard: Obsidian
Lucy Pankhurst: In Pitch Black
Julian Anderson: Fantasias
Simon Bainbridge: Concerti Grossi
Huw Watkins: Violin Concerto
Stage Works
Orlando Gough: A Ring A Lamp A Thing
Tim Minchin: Matilda
Joby Talbot: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Julian Anderson: Bell Mass
Francis Grier: Missa Spiritus Sancti
Gabriel Jackson: The Glory of the Lord

Sonic Art
No Award

Contemporary Jazz Composition
Tommy Evans: The Green Seagull
Martin Kershaw: Closing In
Sid Peacock: Hallucinogenic Garden
Community or Educational Project
John Barber: Consider the Lilies
David Bedford: The Wreck of the Titanic
Anna Meredith: Night Shift
Making Music Award
Richard Bullen: I can't find brumm...
Kirsty Devaney: Hadal Zone
Tim Sutton: The Seven Joys
International Award
Gerald Barry: La Plus Forte
Brett Dean: Epitaphs
Bent Sørensen: La Mattina
Mira Calix / Orlando Gough / Emily Hall / Andy Mellon / Paul Sartin: Fables - A Film Opera
Graham Fitkin: PK
Julian Joseph: Shadowball

No comments: